Yummy Dip – for veggies or chips

Posted on July 17, 2008. Filed under: Recipes | Tags: , , |

I recently starting cooking again (as some of you may know – from the stories of my relationship with food including http://coachforabetterlife.wordpress.com/2008/07/09/i-love-chicken/ ).  And as I’ve begun to redefine my relationship with food, I have been remembering some family recipes.  I thought it might be fun to start collection quick and easy recipes.)

My grandfather was an amazing man.  My grandmother (whom I’m told I take after) died when I was in my early teens – and I still miss her to this day.  She was a fantastic woman.  And my grandfather met and married Miss Thelma – another fantastic woman.  He managed to have not one, but 2 good marriages.  He’s the guy who figured it out.  And Miss Thelma – well she had the gift of hospitality and homemaking.  I didn’t know those were gifts until she came along.  I loved to visit them during my turbulent teen years.  I always felt safe and loved in their home.  And I always wanted to create just that kind of home on my own.   I don’t think I’ve done that (could anyone, really?).  But – I think of her more now that I’m cooking.  And so – as I venture into this realm – I offer you our recipe (if you can call it that) – for a good dip.  Super fast and easy – and even somewhat healthy…Seriously, it takes like 5 minutes tops. 

1 packet of Lipton Spring Vegetable soup – the dried soup in packets
1 cup (8 oz) of fat free yogurt – plain

Mix together.  Refrigerate.   Done! 

Seriously – that’s it.  You can eat it right away, you can eat it later.  I use it for my fresh veggies – as a snack or with lunch or dinner.  Now, if you can’t find the Lipton soup – get anyone else’s Vegetable soup…I’ve used 1/2 an envelope of Knorr’s Vegetable.  You can also swap out for a fattier version of yogurt, or use sour cream (fat free – or not)…

And now I’m eating more veggies, because I like them – with this dip.  And I think back on time I spent with Miss Thelma and Grandpa – in their home – talking about – whatever was on my angst-filled mind when I was 15. 

Enjoy!

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...